Ex-Roman Catholic; Why do I Accepted Islam?

Starting from Scratch

 بِسۡمِ ٱللهِ ٱلرَّحۡمَـٰنِ ٱلرَّحِيمِ

It has been 10 years since I became a Muslim.  And on the 19th of January, my birthday, I decided to leave the religion.  I had had enough of this so-called Ummah.  I was so angry at the Muslims; I thought Allah (s.w.t.) and his Prophet (s.a.w.) had abandoned me.    I was wrong.  So I had to start from scratch, rediscovering what it was that brought me to Islam.
I started at the beginning – I re-read Martin Ling’s Life of Mohammed.  And I read the Qur’an again, spending long hours into the night trying to search for an answer.  I did not get any.  Or so I thought.  I put up on my Facebook: The Well of Kawtharis bitter; it’s promise a pack of lies.’
The angels were busy; the prophets had other business so Allah (s.w.t.) Sent an old friend.  He was more than a friend.  He was a mentor, my first Muslim Teacher.  It was a touching post.  Quite unexpected.  I guess everybody has a different side.
I met up with him; we sat at the coffee shop having tea.  As usual, conversations with him involve a lot of thinking.  We discussed my situation.  I realized that God Answered me after all – but in His own time.  We talked about the political situation in the Middle East – we agreed that war was in everyone’s interest except the Palestinians.  We talked about the Converts’ Association – that place is undergoing a slow, painful period of decline.  And we talked about my journey to Islam.
After the failure of my marriage, the aborted engagement to another girl; all the issues I had with Muslim organizations, it was decided that there was something I had to do to go to that next level.  Almost 20 years ago, I left Singapore to go sailing.  I physically left my comfort zone.  10 years ago, I left Roman Catholicism to the great shock of those who knew me.
I became a Muslim.
I spiritually left my comfort zone.  Everything I have done was guided.  I know that on hindsight, Allah (s.w.t.) Has a Plan for me.  In the same vein that there is a Plan for everyone.  I am far from complete.
Leave a Reply

