I joined the US Army a few months before 9/11 happened..

I joined the US Army a few months before 9/11 happened; I became Muslim that winter after researching to find the truth about the religion after those events. I went to basic training the first summer after 9/11, as a Muslim, and there was an immense number of recruits who joined just to “kill f***ing Muslims” (and there I was the only one amongst them).

I had many people tell me there would be a “training accident” or that if they wouldn’t get in trouble they would “stab me in the face” due to my being Muslim. I noticed that this directly related to how Christian the person was as I generally did not have any trouble from Atheists or Agnostics (there was one exception of a devout Christian who was nice to me).

Question: Why does the violence and anger towards someone who did nothing increase along with apparent faith in Christianity?

 
Leave a Reply

