image

After a long search for spiritual meaning I converted from Christianity to Islam on April 16, 2009. Prior to converting I had studied Islam and the Holy Qur’an for six months and understood that it was mandatory for women to cover their hair and their body. This was definitely a change for me, but I knew that it was better for me to cover my hair and my body and exhibit to others that I am a Muslim who wishes to honor her body with dignity and respectability. For the first year I covered my hair and clothed my body daily and felt comfortable in doing so. However, during my second year as a Muslim I became fretful and discouraged as I watched other Sisters not cover their body or wear their headscarf. Consequently, I stopped covering my hair. I remember going to work and seeing other Sisters proudly wearing their head scarves and I felt so ashamed. I knew that I was not doing what was expected of me as a Muslim if I truly choose to practice Islam. Within the year that I was not covering my hair I had started a new job and they did not know that I was a Muslim. Therefore, I worried about their impression of me if and when I was to wear my head scarf again. Ramadan was approaching and during my prayers I made Dua to Allah (swt) to give me strength and courage to cover my hair once again. During Ramadan 2011, I took time off from work and started to wear my head scarf once more. Alhamdulillah, once my vacation was over I returned back to work with my head scarf on and have worn it outside and to work every day since that time. Shoukran Allah, I was not judged or mistreated by my co-workers or customers while wearing my head scarf. SubhanAllah, most of the time non-Muslim women compliment me on my head scarf and treat me very kindly. Alhamdulillah, I have found prestige and an increase in my self-esteem because I cover my hair and body.

Alhamdulillah, I find that wearing my head scarf has drawn the positive attention of non-Muslim people who become fascinated and want to learn more about the beauty of Islam. SubhanAllah, wearing my head scarf is an opportunity to complete Dawah and inform people about the true peacefulness and loveliness of Islam. – Jennifer, California

***Share your Hijab story with us at: http://worldhijabday.com/submit-story
[Or e-mail it to us at info@worldhijabday.com]***
#WorldHijabDay Feb. 1st

One thought on “

  1. بارك الله فيك أعانك الله

Leave a Reply

